You are here



Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development

THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT is responsible for preparing and implementing Government policy in agriculture and rural development.


Therefore, his duties include:


a) Regarding agriculture:

- the preparation, planning and realisation of Government programmes on agriculture and rural development;

- the design of strategies and measures to guarantee security and food self sufficiency and ensure their implementation;

- the preparation and follow-up of regulations in the agricultural sector;

- the protection and follow-up of various agricultural sectors;

- the qualitative and quantitative improvement of agricultural production and yields;

- the promotion of investments in the agricultural sector in collaboration with the Ministry of the Economy, Planning and Regional Development, and the Ministry of Mines, Industry and Technological Development;

- the promotion of agricultural mechanisation;

- the promotion of small and medium holders in collaboration with the Ministry of Small and Medium Sized Enterprises, Social Economy and Handicrafts;

- the identification and promotion of new agricultural produce for exportation;

- phytosanitary protection of plants;

- the collection, production and analysis of agricultural statistics;

- the coordination of crisis management in the agricultural sector;

- agricultural popularisation in collaboration with the Ministry of Scientific Research and Innovation and other relevant ministries;

- respect for standards in the agricultural sector and the control of their application;

- monitoring professional agricultural organisations;

- monitoring agricultural cooperatives;

- providing guidance on agriculture for producers in partnership with the ministry of Communication;

- monitoring the training of agriculture staff in partnership with the Ministry of Employment and Vocational Training, except for schools under the ministries of education.


b) Regarding rural development:

- fostering community development;

- supervising farmers;

- participating in planning and monitoring programmes realisations to improve living conditions in rural areas, in partnership with competent ministries.


He supervises:

- the Cameroon Development Corporation (CDC);

- the South West Development Authority (SOWEDA);

- the Development Corporation of Cocoa (SODECAO);

- the Cotton Development Company (SODECOTON);


- the Yagoua Rice Development and Modernization Corporation (SEMRY);

- the Unité de Traitements Agricoles par Voie Aérienne (UTAVA) ;

- the Centre d’Etudes et d’Expérimentation du Machinisme Agricole


- the Chamber of Agriculture, Fisheries, Livestock and Forest (CAPEF);


He serves as link between Government and the United Nations Food and Agricultural Organisation (FAO), the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), and the World Food Programme in partnership with the Ministry of External Relations.

Cameroon in brief

Capital City : Yaounde
Area : 475 442 km2
Population : 23 739 218 hab. (2015)
Currency : Franc CFA BEAC (XAF)